Storyboardthat

Does someone remember reading comic strips during their childhood? I think that every adult can remember of at least one comic strip character that they used to like very much. The new tool that I discovered, basically help you create your own comic strip. The website is called Storybardthat and it provides you with a great range of characters, scenes, shapes, and bubbles that help you create your very personal comic strip. This tool even allows you to choose the colors of clothes, skin, and hair of your characters. It is a great tool that helps you create comic strips and what is even more wonderful is the fact that you have a lot of ways to personalize your characters and settings. Therefore, it allows you to create your comic strip based on your preferences. However, clarity is an important issue for such projects because comic strips are really short and straight to the point.

One thing that is particularly difficult to do in class is to motivate all your students at once. I think that having my students create comic strips can motivate girls as well as boys. Boys have a great tendency to read a lot of comic books. Consequently, allowing to create their own comic might motivate them even more. In addition, with the tool I explored there are also princesses, unicorns, and mermaids that students can choose from as characters. As a result, even the girly girls will be happy to use this tool because of the variety of characters that appeal to everyone. It can be used with older grade 6 students as well as with grade 1 students. The only difference will be in the complexity of the texts presented. Also, I particularly enjoyed this tool because it allows my students to practice dialogue. Comic strips are mainly made of dialogues and students will have to create somee in order to present their story clearly.

In addition, I could even use this tool to help me present small content matter or for giving examples to my students. The visual aspect of this tool is something that will appeal to my students as well as making them concentrate more on the subject presented. I think it is a “short and sweet” way to present or clarify some points. I would not use it as an everyday tool, however, I think I could use it from time to time for my students. I think it is something they will greatly enjoy.

I really enjoyed this task because it is easy to use with students and I think it is a dynamic activity that they will enjoy doing. Both boys and girls will be motivated to create their own comic strip and that is an important point to take into consideration for the well-being of the class. Overall, it is a great tool to use because really is polyvalent. I hope that you will at least try it yourself in order to really see the potential of this tool.

students-love-storyboard-that

Leave a Reply

